Speakeasy – Feel (New Music)

Well this is a nice surprise! Sydney’s Speakeasy have released a three track EP Feel. The four piece of Matt van Herten, Jack Armstrong, Jack Schramko, and Billy Puntton have united previous singles “Amy Street” and “Dream Boy”, and topped it off with a brand new track “Feel”.

With light beats, curious layers, and tender yet cold vocals, new track “Feel” seems as much a cautionary tale against asshole boyfriends as it is an apology for being unfeeling. The short track hits like a thump to the chest in describing their apathy for their ‘trophy’ partner.

Vocal ‘oohs’ and vocals that clearly don’t take pleasure in their emotional emptiness seem like an ironic capture of something they went through. Cold-hearted, yet disturbed by how things went down, “Feel” seems like a contradiction in itself; observing a woman being mistreated by her partner, with unease from the ‘perpetrator’.

Eerie effects and trailing off make this seem like only part of the story and we’re keen for more from Speakeasy as it comes. Check out “Feel” below. We’ve also added the new track to our Spotify playlist: The Depth List: 2018 (chuck us a follow!).


Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.