Brighthaven – Aurea (Track Of The Day, 17th March)

Track Of The Day comes from Swedish metalcore band Brighthaven. Brighthaven parted ways in July 2016, and “Aurea” was their final track released.

Brighthaven were Nick Serlstedt (vocals), Daniel Lundgren (clean vocals), Ludvig Ottosson (bass), Fabian Paulsson (drums), Oscar Dziedziela (guitar), and Marcus William Johansson (guitar).

“Aurea” hits hard from the word go and has a feeling of falling and inner chaos. The waves of djent guitar add to the sensation.

“I shut my eyes but I am left with no sleep
No sleep, no dreams
I can barely think”

Clean vocals give a sense of wanting a way out even with this chaos going on. An openness at the bridge feels as being suspended in time, repeating the same patterns and hanging in limbo.

“I need to feel golden again”

This epic track, including spoken word and gang vocals, is a beautiful farewell for a band. Have a listen to “Aurea” below with its music video.

Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.