Yours Truly – Together (New Music)

September seems to be gearing up to be a good month for album releases! Today Yours Truly have announced their debut album Self Care will release on 18th September via UNFD, and they’ve also revealed new single “Together” along with the announcement.  The 10 song tracklisting of Self Care includes “Composure”, which Yours Truly released in April.

The hand-stitched aesthetic we saw with “Composure” (and in its music video) continues with “Together”, and also features on the album artwork, courtesy of Georgia Moloney. It’s a personal and humble way of sharing the imagery, with a decidedly home-made and grounded vibe. This seems fitting, given that Yours Truly have shared that imposter syndrome is behind the inspiration of the new music.

The album follows the release of their sophomore EP Afterglow (2019), the success of which led to some creative anxiety when working on new music.  Vocalist Mikaila Delgado describes the imposter syndrome that came, and how she had an expectation for the band to exceed what they’d created in Afterglow. Via the press release, Mikaila shared I remember telling myself ‘You need to write the best songs of your life,’ and getting upset about the possibility of not being able to prove ourselves. One night I turned to Lachlan [Cronin, guitar] and said ‘I just feel all the colour has been drained from my brain,’ and we both looked at each other with wide eyes, and that’s how the idea of “Together” came about.”

“I won’t mess this up
Can’t help but think I’m gonna”

Mostly upbeat and soaring, the feelgood “Together” is given the grit of anxiety by its instrumental tension.  Headphones are essential to ride the multilayered waves of “Together” and have its stomping beats sink through your bones, not to mention experience the colourful moments of bass groove that peek through at times. A guitar solo at the bridge mirrors being lost in thought before it then literally sonically ‘pulls it all together’ for one more chorus that sees us through to the end.

Yours Truly are Mikaila Delgado (vocals), Teddie Winder-Haron (guitar), Lachlan Cronin (guitar), and Bradley Cronan (drums). Pre-order their debut album Self Care now: Album artwork and tracklisting is below.

EDIT: As of 23rd July, check out “Together”‘s video game boss battle animated video!



Self Care Tracklist
1. Siamese Souls
2. Composure
3. Together
4. Vivid Dream
5. Undersize
6. Ghost
7. Funeral Home
8. Glass Houses
9. Half Of Me
10. Heartsleeve


Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.