Underoath – On My Teeth (New Music)

Underoath are back with new music and a new label to call home. Confirming their signing to Fearless Records today, the Tampa, FL based band have announced album Erase Me is on the way (April 6th), with “On My Teeth” the first single.

It’s been an eight year long break of new music from the band, comprising of Spencer Chamberlain, Aaron Gillespie, Tim McTague, Chris Dudley, Grant Brandell, and James Smith. The sextet consider this new chapter a fortification of their collective consciousness, having a renewed commitment to their art.

Erase Me intends to address the dire circumstances that led to the demise of the band, the individual band members’ disenchantment with religion, as well as Underoath’s determination to be true to themselves, and with their listeners.

“We took a step away and then we realised that we are a family,” says vocalist Spencer Chamberlain. “We do miss it and we miss each other. We made the decision to never play again as Underoath and then we let that sit a couple of years. Band members rebuilt themselves and their friendships–and then we rebuilt the band.”

The band went into the studio in 2017 with producer Matt Squire, and Ken Andrews, crafting their sixth album, their debut with Fearless Records and Caroline Australia.

As a first taste, “On My Teeth” is fittingly electric, and contagiously amped up. Vein inhabiting riffs and collective driving forces express a determined stare of confrontation.

“So where were you when I fell out”

“On My Teeth” is bitterness spat forth and backed by relentlessly impressive musicianship.

The upcoming album’s cover seems to touch on the erasure of religion, if we can interpret the angelic figure in that way.

Erase Me track list:

01. It Has To Start Somewhere
02. Rapture
03. On My Teeth
04. Wake Me
05. Bloodlust
06. Sink With You
07. Ihateit
08. Hold Your Breath
09. No Frame
10. In Motion
11. I Gave Up

Soak up “On My Teeth” now, and pre-order Erase Me bundles here: http://found.ee/underoathbundles. Pre-orders for Australians: https://caroline.lnk.to/EraseMe


Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.