Nowhere To Be Found – Traverse (New Music)

Portugal based Insch have come a long way since we checked out their Safe Haven album in 2017. Working busily behind the scenes, the trio have now evolved into a quartet and rebranded to become Nowhere To Be Found.

Shrugging off their more grunge-influenced rock flavour, Manel Gomes (bass), Miguel Rodrigues (drums), João Quintais (guitar), and Tiago Duarte (vocals) have worked on honing their sound with Swedish producer Henrik Udd (Bring Me The Horizon, Architects). The result seems to be the production something more polished and powerful.

Freshly released single “Traverse” is the band’s first original release under the new moniker, and includes vocal features from Matty Mullins of Memphis May Fire. Sonically, “Traverse” opens with a cavernous drum-focused introduction, creating a dense feeling of anticipation. With the verse vocals shared between Tiago and Matty, “Traverse” expresses a progressive unravelling, for the purpose of getting to the heart of matters. The chorus offers a gentle place to land, promising to “be there for you”.

For me it’s the bridge that really shines on “Traverse”; where a back-and-forth between the vocalists couples with burgeoning instrumentation to set the stage for yearning and soaring guitar work. It’ll be interesting to see what the future holds for Nowhere To Be Found!

Check out “Traverse”:

Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.