Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000 (Track Of The Day, 12th October)

Today we got the incredible news from Melbourne heavy music label UNFD of a tribute album to Australian alternative/rock band Silverchair. Ten stellar acts under the UNFD umbrella will celebrate Silverchair’s music in Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair, releasing November 17th.

Silverchair were Daniel Johns, Ben Gillies and Chris Joannou. The trio started from a demo competition before making themselves a household name, from their formation in 1992 through to their ultimate hiatus from 2011. Each of their five studio albums impressively peaked at #1 on the ARIA charts, as well as the band being celebrated with ARIA Music Awards and Daniel Johns being awarded APRA awards for songwriting.

As well as being the title of one of Silverchair’s songs, ‘Spawn (Again)’ feels like a fitting play on words for a revival of music for the band whose first album was named Frogstomp.

UNFD have kicked off hype for the release with Northlane‘s version of Silverchair’s “Anthem For The Year 2000” from their 1999 Neon Ballroom album. Northlane’s take on the track is faster, more slick/modernised, and takes the simple grandness of Silverchair’s anthem and makes it their own. Have a listen on the video below, with Silverchair’s original below it for nostalgic purposes.

Check out what else is in store!

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow

2. Void of Vision – Israel’s Son

3. In Hearts Wake – Freak

4. The Brave – Cemetery

5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000

6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)

7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)

8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness

9. Tonight Alive – Without You

10. Columbus – Straight Lines

Pre-orders are open right now:



Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.