Heartline – Covert (New Music)

So great to see Heartline back with new single “Covert”! The Adelaide four piece wowed us with their previous (debut!) single “Frail”, and have clearly kept the fierceness coming with their newest release.

Heartline are Luke Taylor (vocals), Fraser Stiles (guitar), Nevenko Sarunic (bass), and Michael Cooper (drums). Band members were formerly making music together as To Hell With Paradise, before refining their sound and approach, and striding into the scene as Heartline. The relatively new band have already earned places at shows with Wither, Windwaker, and Reside, and will also be appearing at the Adelaide stop of The Brave‘s Aura Tour in August.

“My expertise is faking a smile
True enough to fool myself
Makes it easier to keep my weight off
Everybody else”

“Covert” is an assault via the ears from its beginning. Fear, frustration and bombardment are expressed by sound and word, where the protagonist is closed within his own prison.  Raw and rhythmically erratic, we land upon a crossroads; to continue to hide the truth, or to let it out with untold impacts upon loved ones and life in general.

Breathlessly suspended in thought before feeling like falling, there’s only a momentary reprieves of calm contemplation before the machine of heaviness rolls onward. Like screaming underwater, an untold secret that burns inside you is a torturous experience. With ever switching effects of light, unpredictable twists and turns of rhythm, and fierce metallic collisions via guitar, Heartline wrestle palpably with their situation.

Check out “Covert” via YouTube below!


Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.