Sum Of Us – Forrest (New Music)

You’ll need to give us a minute to work out how to put Sum Of Us‘s debut track “Forrest” into words. Aptly named, the band is a (ridiculously talented) collective of Brisbane musicians joining forces on a project that the band say ‘just clicked’ from the first jam session onward. Sum Of Us includes Jamie Swanson on guitar, Jeremy Field on guitar, Jasper Webb on bass (Red In Tooth), Bryce Carleton on vocals (Kodiak Empire), and Dane Pulvirenti on drums (Osaka Punch).

“Forrest” is the first single from the band, intended as an introduction of their sound, as well as working well as an invitation to get hyped about upcoming EP Sharp Turns in Dark Tunnels. Vocalist Bryce shares that “Forrest” illustrates “the feeling of sitting on the edge of reality; slipping off and attempting to claw your way back to the state of mind you were in prior to that moment.”

To attempt to share our impression of “Forrest”, it’s a journey that the EP title captures well: The track features slamming beats, intricate riffs, and steady movement that takes sudden sharp turns into darker corners. “Forrest” is captivating in watching gritty pieces of skilled and curious sound trying to fit together, before moving sideways into the brighter chorus. Heavier and ‘growlier’ moments show up along the way, seeming like a force from which something new will come. Drum beats break their way through, making room for a darker, more frantic and heavier close.

It’s a piece of music you definitely need to listen to to get the full experience! Watch below as Sum of Us take us all into the room with them as they play through “Forrest”.


Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.