Converge – Under Duress (New Music)

Boston-based Converge have added detail to their previous hintings about a full album coming this year. The Dusk In Us is due to be dropped on 3rd November and will be the first album in five years from the band, and the ninth full-length album from them.

In the lead-up to the release, Converge (Jacob Bannon (vocals), Kurt Ballou (guitar), Nate Newton (bass), and Ben Koller (drums)) have shared “Under Duress”, which will be the third track of the new album.

“Under Duress” captures the raw screams from a horrified heart of what is going on around them in society.  The stance of self-protection lending itself to more need to self-protect, when fear of each other grows. The myth of control and obedience being safety instead.

“don’t need a helmet if I have my heart
don’t need your war to find peace”

Making decisions from a state of pressure (under duress) makes for these fear-fueled protections and organisations we ‘kiss the ring’ of seem necessary.

But listen to these cries, crashes, and searing and pained riffs and wake up.  Fear instead what we’re becoming at the hand of fear, losing our hear and compassion, and ‘be set free’.

Pre-order The Dusk In Us HERE.



1. A Single Tear
2. Eye of the Quarrel
3. Under Duress
4. Arkhipov Calm
5. I Can Tell You About Pain
6. The Dusk in Us
7. Wildlife
8. Murk & Marrow
9. Trigger
10. Broken by Light
11. Cannibals
12. Thousands of Miles Between Us
13. Reptilian

Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.