Architects – Animals (New Music)

You probably don’t need us to tell you that Architects have released a new single called “Animals”. The moreish track already has over 250,000 streams on Spotify and well over double that when it comes to views of the music video on YouTube. You also probably don’t need us to tell you that the song is part of an album to come; For Those That Wish To Exist will release on February 26th via Epitaph Records. So instead of telling you what you already know, let’s dive in deep to “Animals” specifically.

Where Holy Hell was a multi-faceted exploration of grief and loss after the death of bandmate and brother Tom Searle, it’s apparent that Architects are exploring more worldly issues with their music to come – while still keeping the focus upon the personal. Vocal supporters of animal rights, Architects’ main songwriter Dan Searle has been quoted as saying that For Those That Wish To Exist was inspired by “our inability to change to a way of life that would sustain the human race and save the planet”.

He elaborates on the lens of this by saying, “I wanted to look in the mirror and ask ourselves the question of what are we going to do, as opposed to trying to point the finger at politicians. Change has to start on a personal level. The world has developed a culture of wanting someone else to deal with it, when we need to take our own responsibility. It has to start there.”  With song titles such as “An Ordinary Extinction”, “Black Lungs”, and “Dead Butterflies” [see the album artwork and tracklisting at the end of this article], I’m intrigued to hear how Architects will explore these ideas.

“This shouldn’t feel so monotonous”

Sonically, “Animals” is stomping and alarming; a palpable wake-up call.  The bleak seriousness of a dire situation is doubled down by every element of the band, giving an uncomfortable sense of time running out. Huge riffs and earth-shaking beats have nothing subtle about them, nor does the imagery of the music video where smoke flares, an hourglass, blackened hands, and nooses build a picture of futility.

At the verses we’re faced with an unflinching and emotionless Sam Carter, whose calm voice shares his/the protagonist’s experience of what seems like tripping up on the realisation of mortality.  The occasional fall into a whispered idea of life being a “dream within a dream” doesn’t offer much reprieve from the gravity of reality, where literal sirens exist along with hardened edges of sound, including a mammoth breakdown.

If I could ask Architects about this song, I’d love to understand their view of “the fiction that we’re living in”; whether it relates to the writer’s perspective on what reality/consciousness is, or whether it’s more to do with a decision to cease living mindlessly and take active responsibility, along the same lines as what Dan has mentioned above. I’m also curious about what they describe about “a diamond in the mud”, which is strongly reminiscent of “There’s gold buried in the blue” too. What are your thoughts?

Regardless of the specifics, “Animals” is undeniably drawing and driving and acts as a perfect first single to inspire invested curiosity of the album to come. Its determination and forward moving energy is addictive and we’re now collectively sitting at the edge of our respective seats for more. Watch “Animals” again via YouTube below, and pre-order For Those That Wish To Exist now HERE.


For Those That Wish To Exist Artwork and Tracklisting

  1. Do You Dream of Armageddon?
  2. Black Lungs
  3. Giving Blood
  4. Discourse Is Dead
  5. Dead Butterflies
  6. An Ordinary Extinction
  7. Impermanence ft. Winston McCall (Parkway Drive)
  8. Flight Without Feathers
  9. Little Wonder ft. Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
  10. Animals
  11. Libertine
  12. Goliath ft. Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro)
  13. Demi God
  14. Meteor
  15. Dying Is Absolutely Safe
Kel Burch

Creator and caretaker of Depth Mag, Kel uses her superpowers of empathy, word-weaving, and feeling everything deeply, to immerse herself in music before returning to reality to write about her experience with it. [Loved the read? Shout Kel a latte.]

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.